Skip To Main Content

What Can I Expect During Chakra Balancing? Your First Time Guide

What Can I Expect During Chakra Balancing? Your First Time Guide

Have you ever heard of Chakra therapy? It’s based on the ancient Indian belief designed to promote health through the body’s 7 major energy centers or Chakras. Each of the major Chakras is associated with a specific shape, sense organ, color, natural element, and deity. Many different cultures have studied the body’s energy centers for thousands of years, and Chakra Therapy is tried and proven to enhance your body’s energy and flow.

Are you wondering, “What can I expect” from an upcoming Chakra Therapy appointment? Do you want to learn more about this ancient therapy and what your session will entail?

Keep reading to learn more about what to expect and how to get the most out of your Chakra balancing.

What Are Chakras?

The word Chakra in Sanskrit translates to “disk” or “wheel,” but it references a spiritual energy center within the human body.
These swirling wheels of energy contain major organs and nerves. They also impact our emotional, spiritual, and psychological states of being.

Because everything in our bodies is continually moving, our 7 major Chakras must remain open. Otherwise, they can become blocked, not unlike a bathtub drain.
And when a drain is blocked, bacteria and mold will start to grow, and it doesn’t function the same way.

The same goes for the Chakras. Within everyone, exists prana, the ultimate healing energy. It’s all around us, within us, and its goal is to keep us happy and healthy.
The goal is for prana to flow freely throughout the body.

How Many Chakras Are There?

There are 114 Chakras in the human body, though most people have only heard of the significant 7.
In addition, the human body has 72,000 energy channels (or nadis).
The nadis form a triangle when they meet at different points in the body. This triangle is also referred to as a Chakra (or wheel). The wheel symbolizes growth and movement.
Each Chakra has their own vibrational frequency which influences aspects of our attitudes and behaviors.

What Are the Chakras?

Of the 7 major Chakras, there are 3 categories that encompass them.

The Chakras of Matter

There are 3 Chakras of Matter.

The 1st Chakra is called the Muladhara, also known as the Root Chakra. Located at the base of the spine or tailbone, it is the Chakra of security, stability, and basic needs.

When this Chakra is open, humans feel secure, safe, and grounded. Balancing this Chakra will result in less worry and anxiety.

The 2nd Chakra is called the Svadhisthana, also known as the Sacral Chakra. Located below the navel and above the pubic bone, this is our sexual center.

This Chakra is responsible for creative expression, and sexuality. Balancing this Chakra will result in feelings of joy and satisfaction.

The 3rd Chakra is called the Manipura, also known as the Solar Plexus Chakra. Located in the area between the navel and the breastbone, it is our source of personal power.

When this Chakra is open, we feel confident and determined.

The 4th Chakra - the Connection Between Matter and Spirit

The 4th Chakra is called Anahata, also known as the Heart Chakra.
Located at the center of the chest just above the heart, it serves as a bridge between our mind, body, emotions, and spirit.

It is our source of compassion, love, and connection. When it is balanced, we understand emotions and feel at peace.

The Chakras of Spirit

The 5th Chakra is called the Vishuddha, also known as the Throat Chakra. Located in the throat area, it is our source of verbal expression.

When it’s open, an individual should be able to speak their highest truth. Balancing this Chakra will result in being able to find the right words to say what you mean, and be better understood by others.

The 6th Chakra is called the Ajna, often referred to as the Third Eye Chakra. The Ajna is the point between the eyebrows, it is the source of our intuition.

When the 6th Chakra is open, we can trust our feelings, see the bigger picture, and further enable ourselves to heed warnings and trust that gut intuition.

The 7th Chakra is called the Sahasrara, also known as the Crown Chakra. Living at the crown of the head, it is often referred to as the “thousand petal lotus.”

The Sahasrara is the Chakra of spiritual connection to our higher selves, to other people, and the divine. It’s also the Chakra of enlightenment.

How to Make the Most of Your Therapy

When a Chakra is blocked, it can significantly impact your life.

For example, if your 4th Chakra is blocked, your heart is closed and that can give way to feelings of anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, or grief.

Do you find it easy to speak your mind? If the answer is yes, chances are that your throat Chakra (your 5th Chakra) is open. If this Chakra is blocked, it can affect how you convey yourself to the world.

Before your first energy session, spend some time in reflection so that you can go in with a clear purpose. It’ll help you make the most of your healing session.

Do you have a particular fear that you want to combat? Do you find it hard to speak your mind? Do feelings of jealousy and anger consume you? Do you have daily anxiety? Do you find that your neck and back are stiff, and your headaches are becoming more frequent?

If you have multiple goals, write them all down. Discuss them with your Chakra therapist and pick 1 to focus on first, if you can.

What Happens During Chakra Therapy?

Wear comfortable clothing for your Chakra Therapy and try to be well-rested. Be prepared to discuss your goals or a particular ailment you’d like to work on.

Your practitioner will first ask you about your life and what ails you. Your healer will “center” themselves, connecting to their inner self and universal life energy. This process is similar to meditation.

Your healer will scan your energy fields with their hands to look for any imbalances or sensations. They’ll then choose healing techniques appropriate for your needs. They’ll reassess your energy fields at the end and then “ground” you (bring you back to an alert state).

Many healers use aroma therapies in their practice, which are excellent tools to use in your own life.

At the end of your session, you’ll discuss the therapy and any sensations or experiences. From there, you’ll develop a plan of self-care. This plan may include setting up another session and techniques and strategies you can use in your real life.

What Can I Expect from Chakra Therapy?

If you’re wondering, “What can I expect from Chakra therapy,” know that it is different for everyone. Depending on what you’re dealing with in your physical and emotional life, your Chakra therapist will work towards reading your energy and determining which of your significant Chakras need attention. They’ll discuss what ails you and help you develop a plan to work toward opening your Chakras and energy and flow, connecting your mind, body, and spirit.

Are you interested in learning about how to connect aromatherapy with Chakra therapy? Using essential oils on your energy points has physical and psychological benefits. You can sign up for the course here or contact us with any questions!

Chakra products we recommend